Camping Iceland
5.0
powered by Facebook
Alexandra Mandler
Alexandra Mandler
2017-07-18T21:04:37+0000
We were very surprised to get a brand new Dacia Duster, which turned out to be the perfect car for such a trip. We almost drove 3.000 kilometers and we enjoyed it to the fullest. When we picked up the car, we were told that we would not need the adapter to charge our phones - instead, they suggested us to take some sleeping bags. This was really helpful, as we did not have any idea about the Icelandic weather and climate conditions. We felt very safe to rent our car at Camping Iceland and would definitely recommend this company to everyone who is thinking of hitting the road in Iceland! We would give more than five stars if possible :) Thumbs are all up!!
Daniele Natale
Daniele Natale
2017-07-18T19:31:20+0000
Estelle Bitki
Estelle Bitki
2017-07-17T15:37:26+0000
Great service and great camper ! We rented with two friends a Doge RAM for some days and we really enjoyed it. It is super cozy inside and we had enough space for 3 people. The team is kind and helpful, I recommend it strongly :)
Sofie Erhardt
Sofie Erhardt
2017-07-15T19:43:26+0000
We rented a brand new Subaru Forester with a matress in the back, so no tent was needed. This was an amazing choice! The sleeping and the driving experience was great, it was warm and cozy during the nights and fun driving trough the highlands. The service of camping iceland was amazingly efficient and Rúnar the owner was very friendly and obliging. We definitely would book with this car rental again and recommend it to any iceland traveler!
Audrey Zuschlag
Audrey Zuschlag
2017-07-11T13:12:11+0000
Excellent experience from pre-booking thru drop off. Ásgeir was incredibly responsive to questions along the way. The camping kit was great, and we added the electric cooler and grill, too. The vehicle was great, no issues there either. Not a single complaint. Definitely recommend and would use again without hesitation.
Leandro Valentino
Leandro Valentino
2017-06-09T21:25:11+0000
it was a pleasure to travel around with the Subaru Forester. What a great ride with a powerful 4x4. Drove offroad and made some food in the fresh air of Iceland with the camping kit included. Enough space in the back to sleep with 2 people. Overall, wonderful company!
Alexa Hoffman
Alexa Hoffman
2017-05-29T21:56:42+0000
Rented the Suzuki Jimny 4x4 with the roof tent for a roadtrip around the country in May. It was incredibly comfortable and made our entire trip the greatest experience. Camping Iceland gave us all the tools and information needed, and made the entire process so easy. Will definitely be recommending for friends traveling to Iceland.
Draz Grce
Draz Grce
2017-05-28T15:36:05+0000
Rented a vehicle from this company and it was the smoothest transaction. Owner was extremely attentive, accommodating and hospitable. Best service I have experienced. Highly recommend.
Catherine Bennington
Catherine Bennington
2017-04-20T19:17:40+0000
We rented the Suzuki Jimny 4x4 with the roof tent in April for a 10 day trip. Camping Iceland was incredibly informative and accommodating; they made the process of renting a vehicle an absolute breeze. The Jimny was extremely comfortable and easy to drive (even when going up against 30km/hr winds!). The 4WD was incredibly useful and it got us to every destination we wanted to reach. We will definitely be recommending Camping Iceland to any of our friends who will be traveling to Iceland in the future!
Michalina Okreglicka
Michalina Okreglicka
2017-03-16T09:37:20+0000
Excellent service I would recommend this place to my friends
Jón Halldór Baldvinsson
Jón Halldór Baldvinsson
2017-03-16T09:20:01+0000
Great service and really helpful on things to see and do for our vacation.
Lynette A. Whitfield
Lynette A. Whitfield
2016-09-19T17:43:54+0000
We rented the Dodge Ram with a TravelLite camper for 12 days in September and had an amazing experience. Our vehicle was not ready when we initially arrived so Asgeir gave us the keys to his truck so that we could go buy supplies at a local grocery store while we waited. The truck was incredibly comfortable to ride in, even on the very bumpy road to Selfoss, and was very easy to drive. This truck is 4WD which came in handy a couple times. The camper was very comfortable for 2 people. Asgeir gave us some good advice about the campgrounds in Iceland, and even answered our text messages at 9pm one night when we were having trouble with the lock on the camper. I would highly recommend camping Iceland, not only for the excellent truck and camper, but also for the customer service.
Mary Poppendieck
Mary Poppendieck
2016-07-02T12:36:37+0000
We rented a Dodge Ram truck with a Travellite camper in back for 9 days in June, 2016. We traveled with our son, his wife, and their two-year-old. Ásgeir at Camping Iceland made sure that we had an extra large truck with plenty of space in the back for two adults and a child car seat. He also provided a large Quechua XXL III 2 Second pop-up tent for our son and his family, since the camper is not big enough for five. This was an awesome set-up. Our son's family moved their suitcases into the large tent vestibule every time we camped, and they had plenty of room to sleep. The tent held up very well in rain and high wind. The camper was also awesome - we had a refrigerator with a working freezer, a two burner gas stove, and a table that could fit four in bad weather - although all five of us in the camper was cramped (as expected). The combination worked very well, and the 4WD truck allowed us to explore the Westfjords, Kerlingarfjöll, and Landmannalaugar without limitations. We did find the truck camper to be a handful in high wind and a bit top-heavy on steep winding roads, but that did not prove to be a problem for us. The experience with Camping Iceland could not have been better. We had a problem with the tent the first evening when we set it up, and they brought a replacement tent to our campground! We always got more than we expected in every encounter with this company, and it was clear their focus was on making sure we had a great trip. I cannot recommend Camping Iceland highly enough. They really care about their customers.
Caro Evers
Caro Evers
2016-06-28T14:43:18+0000
in love… with Iceland!!!! Just came back from a 10 day visit on Iceland and had the best time ever! We had THE perfect travel car- a mens dream- DODGE RAM- with a camper top. Just awesome! I loved the car so much (the sound when you start it) and had the best sleep in the camper top. Iceland is perfect for a camping holiday- cause you can nearly camp everywhere you want. With the camper van we had the best travel buddie- comfy bed, kitchen, enough space and the perfect car and comfort. We travelled with my sister and had the best time. We even went in the highland (so good!!! Also check out the natural hot pools) and it’s only possible with 4W drive- so we were pretty lucky. It was hard for us.. but the return was pretty easy- camping Iceland has a super nice team- I would book there anytime again.. hopefully soon!!!
Svenja Altan
Svenja Altan
2016-06-26T22:15:14+0000
yeay camping iceland! wow - what a trip! it's the once in a lifetime thing...you have to make it to iceland at least once in your life. And if you make it, be sure to have the best possible setup! Me and my sister went around the island for 10 days in the most amazing car out there, rented through the super friendly, ressourceful and fun staff at camping iceland. In my humble opinion, there's nothing like the Dodge Ram Pick-up with the camping box on top - what a cool and spacious solution for "glamping"! Not gonna lie...we girls liked the comfort :) And the 4x4 comes in handy if the notorious Icelandic weather changes...nothing to be afraid of! You can do the highlands at any weather, anytime. No other camper could do that! So long story short: best service, best trip recommendations, BEST ride and simply such an amazing adventure! the pictures & memories will last for a lifetime...highly recommended!
Violetta Ásgeirsson
Violetta Ásgeirsson
2016-03-16T20:16:38+0000
Eyþór Ingi Eyþórsson
Eyþór Ingi Eyþórsson
2015-11-22T11:51:50+0000
Decided to leave all my camping gear at home and go with Camping Iceland. They set me up with everything I needed, and I also could fit my own luggage case without any problems in my car. Thank you Camping Iceland for making my trip unforgettable
James Farmer
James Farmer
2015-09-28T02:26:16+0000
I just came back from a seven-day driving/camping trip in Iceland. After spending hours upon hours deciding on which car rental place to use, I settled on Camping Iceland and couldn't have had a more positive experience. From the get go, Daniel promptly and patiently responded to all my questions and gave me advice. Daniel picked us up from our hotel on time and took us back to their office where we did the paperwork and he showed us how to put up and take down the pop-up tent. He was friendly, professional, and a stand-up guy. The car, a 2015 Toyota Landcruiser, was clean and almost brand new (and, had leather seats which was nice). I am glad I went for the big 4WD, especially once we got on the F roads and to the river crossings. I have driven similar roads in a RAV4 and it is a completely different experience. The camping box has pretty much everything you need. They also have a 'pay it forward' wall in the office, so you can leave any half-full gas canisters, etc. for the next person. We also bought the mid-priced sleeping bag they had. It kept us warm camping in the highlands in early August. I will definitely be going back to Iceland to see more of the wonderful country, and will most definitely be going with Camping Iceland again.
Pat McKeon
Pat McKeon
2015-08-26T05:37:11+0000
Awesome! Daniel and Camping Iceland are a great company that are both helpful, flexible and friendly. Perfect for first time campers or seasoned travellers.
Steven Greenberg
Steven Greenberg
2015-08-01T14:50:00+0000
We camped our way around Iceland for 10 days with a Toyota Yaris and rooftop box of equipment from Camping Iceland in July 2015. Daniel was responsive and professional from my initial email inquiry six months prior to travel right up to our final billing. The equipment was complete and in good shape. The 4-person tent was especially roomy, easy to put up, and convenient. If you want to see as much of Iceland as possible without an astronomical budget, camping is the way to go. With Camping Iceland, the logistics are simple – all you need to do is buy food. I highly recommend their service, and would definitely use them for a future trip!
Hilmar Már Einarsson
Hilmar Már Einarsson
2015-01-27T18:42:13+0000
Ally Isabelle Alexandria
Ally Isabelle Alexandria
2014-11-19T19:58:43+0000
Théo Booth-Laure
Théo Booth-Laure
2014-11-16T20:31:17+0000
Ivano Cimaglia
Ivano Cimaglia
2014-09-25T22:24:25+0000
Me and my fried had seven days trip in Iceland with a very well equipped Toyota Rav4 from Camping Iceland. The car was great and brought us everywhere, plenty of optional and very comfy; we were three but can easily house four people. This because of the rooftop box, stuffed with literally everything you need for camping and save room in the trunk! This is a great value and very smart solution as you don't need to bring all the equipment from home saving consistent amount of money for extra luggage, travel light and no need to buy that kind of items you probably use just one in your life. This plus the Icelandic atmosphere gave us one of our best trip ever!
Vegar Kruke
Vegar Kruke
2014-07-22T05:37:32+0000
We had a great time on Iceland this summer with the Toyota Landcruiser from Camping Iceland. Great car, great camping gear and fantastic customer service! Brilliant solution for a great vacation in a beautiful country. If you don't need the size of the Landcruiser, go for the Rav4 - a 4WD in Iceland is necessary to visit some of the most beautiful locations.